Actors & Bodies 2023

Actors & Bodies

The Vienna International Summer School on New Social Housing is coordinated by a Curatorial Team responsible for proposing the thematic focus, designing the programme and selecting the participants.

A Faculty consisting of internationally renowned scholars in diverse fields and disciplines is nominated. The members of the Faculty commit themselves to commenting on the submitted thesis projects as well as to active participation in the organisation – by holding a talk or participating in a round table. The faculty members hold expertise in all relevant fields of housing research (urban development and regeneration, community organising, architecture and housing construction, land policy and land management, spatial planning, sociology, real estate and project development, etc.).

Local Experts support the Summer School in its effort to connect the international discourse with Vienna and its urban specifics by organizing a workshop, giving short inputs, conceptualizing walks and/or by carrying out fieldwork.



Simon Güntner, Margaret Haderer, Michael Obrist, Judith M. Lehner (TU Wien)

Christoph Reinprecht (University of Vienna)

Brigitte Felderer, Christina Schraml (University of Applied Arts Vienna)



Nina Lobnig (TU Wien)

Lena Coufal (University of Vienna)



Jennifer Duyne Barenstein (ETH-Wohnforum, ETH Zurich)

Mara Ferreri (Beyond Inhabitation Lab, Politecnico di Torino)

Maren Harnack (Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences)

Andrew Herscher (Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, University of Michigan)



Michael Pötzelsberger  (Wohnpartner Wien)

Nadja Altenstrasser  (Wohnpartner Wien)

Zsuzsanna Takacsy  (querkraft Architekten)

Martin Färber  (Social Design Studio)

Markus Gebhardt  (Wild im West)

Pavel Naydenov  (Wild im West)

Lisa Bolyos & Tomash Schoiswohl (Immo Grief)

Marko Aksentijevic & Jovana Timotijević (Ministry of Space)

Klaus Kodydek (Unit for Resource Conservation and Sustainability in the Construction Sector)

Robert Temel & Caren Ohrhallinger (Plattform Baukulturpolitik)

Michael Zinganel & Michael Hieslmair (Tracing Spaces)

Bernadette Krejs (TU Wien)

Emma Dowling (University of Vienna)



Kurt Hofstetter & Amila Širbegović  (MA50)